Mimi MatthewsMimi Matthews

The Matrimonial Advertisement

Book 1: Parish Orphans of Devon Series

About the Book

She Wanted Sanctuary…

Helena Reynolds will do anything to escape her life in London, even if that means traveling to a remote cliffside estate on the North Devon coast and marrying a complete stranger. But Greyfriar’s Abbey isn’t the sort of refuge she imagined. And ex-army captain Justin Thornhill—though he may be tall, dark, and devastatingly handsome—is anything but a romantic hero.

He Needed Redemption…

Justin has spent the last two decades making his fortune, settling scores, and suffering a prolonged period of torture in an Indian prison. Now, he needs someone to smooth the way for him with the villagers. Someone to manage his household—and warm his bed on occasion. What he needs, in short, is a wife and a matrimonial advertisement seems the perfect way to acquire one.

Their marriage was meant to be a business arrangement and nothing more. A dispassionate union free from the entanglements of love and affection. But when Helena’s past threatens, will Justin’s burgeoning feelings for his new bride compel him to come to her rescue? Or will dark secrets of his own force him to let her go?

Buy the Book

  • Buy on Apple Books
  • Buy for Kindle
  • Buy for Nook
  • Buy on Book Depository
  • Buy on Google Play
  • Buy on Indie Bound
  • Buy on Kobo
The Matrimonial Advertisement audiobook by Mimi Matthews

Audiobook

This book is also available on audiobook from the following online booksellers:

Narrator: Justine Eyre
Format: Unabridged
Runtime: 10 hrs and 55 mins

Reviews

A USA Today Bestseller

“For this impressive Victorian romance, Matthews crafts a tale that sparkles with chemistry and impresses with strong character development… Matthews combines authentic period touches with building sexual tension in an excellent series launch that will appeal to fans of Loretta Chase and Stephanie Laurens.”

Publishers Weekly

“Matthews’ series opener is a guilty pleasure, brimming with beautiful people, damsels in distress, and an abundance of testosterone…It’s a well-written and engaging story that’s more than just a romance. The author chooses to draw on dark moments in British history to create Justin’s and Helena’s complicated pasts…It’s an unexpected narrative addition that works well, as Matthews seamlessly blends some grim history with light and frothy fiction.”

Kirkus Reviews

“Matthews (The Viscount and the Vicar’s Daughter) has a knack for creating slow-building chemistry and an intriguing plot with a social history twist. For fans of Victorian romance with a gothic spin.”

Library Journal

“An intriguing plot and a haunting setting leaves the reader immersed in this impressive series launch.”

Barnes & Noble (20 Favorite Indie Books of 2018)

 

“I savored every word of this wonderful historical romance and didn’t want it to end…I’m so happy to have discovered Mimi Matthews and recommend to all who love fantastic well written, character driven Regency and Victorian era romances. She’s brilliant!”

Jane Porter, NYT and USA Today bestselling author

“What a gem of a romance – elegantly written and richly detailed, it pulled me in from the first page and I read it in one sitting. I loved the atmospheric coastal setting, and how skillfully Mimi Matthews sprinkles the details of daily Victorian life into her novels and makes me feel immersed in a different era. Also, the attraction between the h and H was so palpable from the get go, it alone would have kept me turning the pages.”

Evie Dunmore, USA Today bestselling author

“A heart-rending Gothic love story, with a strong yet vulnerable heroine you want to hug and cheer for. The hero has the dark past of Mr. Rochester and the tightly leashed emotion of Mr. Darcy, but is a true romantic hero in every sense of the word. The historical atmosphere is top-notch, as is the writing. I loved it!”

Caroline Linden, USA Today bestselling author

“A highly enjoyable Victorian-sensation style romance…I enjoyed every minute of this warm, charming book.”

KJ Charles, editor and RITA-nominated author

“This delightful Victorian love story took me away to another time and another place for a few blissful hours. Mimi Matthews is a wonderful storyteller…Her style is naturally elegant and warmly flowing, full of historical detail and charm….this is the second of her fictional works that I’ve devoured and I’m looking forward to more.”

Jayne Fresina, bestselling author

“Full of romance and heart, The Matrimonial Advertisement takes a marriage of convenience, a pinch of Beauty and the Beast, and some truly engrossing social history and brings to life a satisfying romantic tale. I look forward to more from this talented author!”

Lena Goldfinch, bestselling author

“I don’t have enough words to say how unbelievably incredible this book is…I am a huge fan of Ms Matthews, her writing is always flawless and articulate, but this simply is in a league of its own… This is Gothic Victorian story-telling at its best. This is how this genre is supposed to be written!…By far one of the best books I have read—ever!” 

-Chicks, Rogues and Scandals

“Everything I look for in a book was incorporated in this romance…The plot was absolutely riveting from the first page to the last…This story was exceptionally well written…I can’t say enough wonderful things about this story.”

Long and Short Reviews

“This is an irresistible romance with the added frisson of gothic fear…This is Miss Matthews’ best book so far and it is only the first in a new series!”

Lost in a Good Book

“I absolutely loved every minute I spent with The Matrimonial Advertisement. Mimi Matthews is an exceptional story-teller. There was a Beauty & the Beast feel to the book, and readers of Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen, and fans of Victorian novels will definitely love it.”

Passages to the Past

“There’s no way this book could be anything but a historical and a mid Victorian one at that. I didn’t feel that I was watching 21st century people with side whiskers or crinolines. What Helena deals with was a real thing…. The initial scary, isolated setting is haunting and leaves you ready to jump at what might come around the corner. The tension is palpable.”

Dear Author

“Mimi Matthews writing style could almost trick one into believing her a contemporary of Austen, Bronte or Gaskell. Like these more famous authors, her historical setting comes alive with accurate detail and description. She tackles social issues of the time with sincerity and compassion, shining a light on the moral hypocrisy of some of the customs and institutions. Best of all, she writes a restrained love story while still conveying the deep respect and passion of the main characters.”

The Silver Petticoat Review

“Mimi Matthews elevates her prose to incomparable heights through tight plot and elegant hand. Her deft storytelling is sublime: subtle details that build from well intended words…Sensual from the first pages and left me breathless by the last. Beautifully executed—should not be missed.”

Christina Boyd, The Quill Ink

“Once again, upon opening a Mimi Matthews Victorian romance, I am completely absorbed into the era’s mores, clothing and prose as well as a beautifully written, emotional romance…This is a story, romance and characters that will stay with me for a very long time to come.” 

Avonna Loves Genres

The Matrimonial Advertisement is a Victorian romance in all its glory…Mimi Matthews definitely knows how to present historical facts effectively and without sounding bookish…a delightful treat for Jane Austen and historical fiction fans.”

Readers’ Favorite

Contests and Awards

  • 27th Annual Writer’s Digest Book Awards Honorable Mention – Genre Fiction
  • 2019 Readers’ Favorite Awards Honorable Mention – Historical Romance
  • 2019 B.R.A.G. Medallion

The Details

Published: September 9, 2018
Publisher: Perfectly Proper Press
Formats: EbookPaperbackAudiobook
ISBN-10: 0999036459 ISBN-13: 978-0999036457 ASIN: B07DLNC967
Genres & Tropes
Victorian Romance, Historical Romance, Gothic Romance, Marriage of Convenience, Mail-Order Brides, Clean and Wholesome Romance

Our website uses cookies which may collect information about your visit to improve our website (anonymous analytics), to show you media (video and audio), targeted advertising, and social media feeds. Please see our Cookie Policy page for further details or agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyze our website and optimize for the purpose of a.o. the usability.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook. These cookies may track your personal data.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests. These cookies may track your personal data.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.