Madam, Ma’am, or Miss: Proper Address for Unmarried Young Ladies

La Mode, 1836.
(Met Museum)

During the nineteenth century, the proper address for an unmarried young lady was very much a matter of rank—both the rank of the one being addressed and the one doing the addressing. For instance, a maidservant might acknowledge a command given by her young unmarried mistress by saying “Yes, miss.” Whereas a gentleman might address the same unmarried young lady with a “Yes, madam” or “Yes, ma’am.” According to How to Do It (1864):

“We address a married lady, or widow, as Madam, or by name, Missis or Mistress Jones. In answering a question, we contract the Madam to ma’am — as ‘yes, ma’am, no ma’am, very fine day, ma’am.’ A single lady, of a certain age, may also be addressed as Madam.”

As referenced above, proper address for an unmarried young lady also depended on her age. If she was old enough to marry—such as Elizabeth Bennet in Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice—a gentleman would address her as “Madam” or “Ma’am.” As an example, consider Mr. Darcy’s reply to Elizabeth’s rejection of his proposal:

“You have said quite enough, madam. I perfectly comprehend your feelings, and have now only to be ashamed of what my own have been.”

Les Modes Parisiennes, 1860.
(Met Museum)

It wasn’t always considered bad form to address an unmarried young lady as “Miss.” When coupled with a first name or surname, the honorific was wholly appropriate. How to Do It explains:

“A young lady, if the eldest of the family, unmarried, is entitled to the surname, as Miss Smith, while her younger sisters are called Miss Mary, Miss Julia, &c.”

Using “Miss” all by itself, however, was never appropriate unless one was of the servant or lower classes. As How to Do It states:

“The Term ‘Miss,’ used by itself, is very inelegant.”

Occasionally, in my writing, I come across a reader who is thrown by the fact that a hero or other character in one of my books addresses the unmarried heroine as “Ma’am” instead of “Miss.” I hope this brief post gives you some insight into why he does so.


Sources

Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. Ed. Donald Gray. Norton Critical Editions. 3rd ed. New York: Norton, 2002.

How to Do It. New York: John Tingley, 1864.

Available Now

The Matrimonial Advertisement
Parish Orphans of Devon, Book 1

England, 1859. When ex-army captain Justin Thornhill places an advertisement for a wife, the mysterious lady who appears on his doorstep isn’t quite what he was expecting. 
Find out more or Read an Excerpt

Order Today

ebook: $4.99 / paperback: $16.99 / audiobook: $21.99

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Apple | GooglePlay

Praise for The Matrimonial Advertisement

“For this impressive Victorian romance, Matthews crafts a tale that sparkles with chemistry and impresses with strong character development… an excellent series launch that will appeal to fans of Loretta Chase and Stephanie Laurens.” -Publishers Weekly

“Matthews’ series opener is a guilty pleasure, brimming with beautiful people, damsels in distress, and an abundance of testosterone…It’s a well-written and engaging story that’s more than just a romance.” -Kirkus Reviews

“Matthews has a knack for creating slow-building chemistry and an intriguing plot with a social history twist.” -Library Journal

“An intriguing plot and a haunting setting leaves the reader immersed in this impressive series launch.” -Barnes & Noble (20 Favorite Indie Books of 2018)

“I savored every word of this wonderful historical romance and didn’t want it to end.” -Jane Porter, NYT and USA Today bestselling author

“A heart-rending Gothic love story…The hero has the dark past of Mr. Rochester and the tightly leashed emotion of Mr. Darcy, but is a true romantic hero in every sense of the word. The historical atmosphere is top-notch, as is the writing. I loved it!” -Caroline Linden, USA Today bestselling author

“A highly enjoyable Victorian-sensation style romance…I enjoyed every minute of this warm, charming book.” -KJ Charles, editor and RITA-nominated author


© 2015-2021 Mimi Matthews

For exclusive information on upcoming book releases, giveaways, and other special treats, subscribe to Mimi’s newsletter THE PENNY NOT SO DREADFUL.

You can also connect with Mimi on Facebook and Twitter.


Subscribe
Notify of
guest
Privacy Policy Consent
5 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anne
Anne
6 months ago

Fascinating topic! How people were addressed back then said so much!

Candy
Candy
6 months ago

An excellent argument in favor of RESEARCH for writers of historical fiction. There are so many ways to get things wrong. Research is our best tool.

lars
lars
6 months ago

If the unmarried lady in question were titled, would an unmarried gentleman previously introduced to her call her ‘Lady Elinor’, ”Lady Grey’, or my lady?

Our website uses cookies which may collect information about your visit to improve our website (anonymous analytics), to show you media (video and audio), targeted advertising, and social media feeds. Please see our Cookie Policy page for further details or agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyze our website and optimize for the purpose of a.o. the usability.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook. These cookies may track your personal data.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests. These cookies may track your personal data.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.