Teeth Whitening in the Victorian Era: From Charcoal Paste to Sulfuric Acid

A dentist looking at a tooth of a very attractive female patient, 19th century.
(Wellcome Collection. CC BY 4.0)

I like to make my historical novels as authentically Victorian as possible. However, when it comes to the subject of dental health, I’m guilty of fudging the facts. The truth is, not everyone in the 19th century had strong white teeth. Rather the opposite. In an era with no Crest Whitestrips, no veneers, and somewhat primitive dentistry, you were more likely to encounter a hero with brown or missing teeth than one with a gleaming white smile.

That’s not to say that the Victorians were ignorant of proper dental hygiene. In fact, some Victorian publications advocated brushing as many as five times a day. As the 1873 book The Teeth and How to Save Them states:

 “To secure proper cleanliness, pleasant taste and purity of breath, the teeth ought to be cleansed five times a day; once after each meal, once before retiring and once during the morning ablutions.”

When brushing, Victorians were advised to use castile soap, or a paste, powder, or liquid dentifrice. Dentifrices were widely available at local chemists’ shops. Some were flavored or scented with essence of roses, mint, or vanilla. Others were made from popular recipes, containing such ingredients as chalk, camphor, or quinine. The more abrasive the mixture, the better it was considered for the purpose of whitening the teeth.

Dr. Ziemer’s Alexandra Dentifrice advertisement, 1894.

Many Victorian methods for whitening the teeth were less than ideal. Charcoal, ground into a paste, was one of the most popular of this variety. The 1860 edition of Mackenzie’s Five Thousand Receipts in All the Useful and Domestic Arts provides a recipe for a teeth whitener made of charcoal and honey. In the short term, such a mixture did a creditable job of whitening the teeth; however, in the long term, charcoal inflamed the gums and often led to periodontal disease.

Bleaching was another option for whitening the teeth. Oxalic acid had been in use for just such a purpose from as early as 1830. Other methods of teeth bleaching involved the application of solutions of diluted nitric acid, chloride of soda, or cyanide of potassium. These solutions could be quite injurious to the teeth and any surrounding tissue, which was why it was recommended that they never be applied except by a qualified dentist.

A nervous elderly lady in a dental surgery. Pen drawing by S. Wood (1870-1944).
(Wellcome Library CC BY 4.0)

There are many horror stories of Victorian teeth whitening gone awry. For example, in his 1848 book A Popular Treatise on the Teeth, dental surgeon Mayo Smith relates the tale of two “peregrinating dentists” who passed through town selling a solution for whitening the teeth. At each house, the dentists applied the solution to the resident’s teeth and:

“As the article certainly did whiten the teeth in a most expeditious manner, and as their charge was less than that of the regular dentist, many persons were induced to have their ‘teeth cleaned.’”

Unfortunately, after a few days had passed, the treated teeth “grew black, were denuded of the enamel, and became so extremely sensitive, that they had to be extracted.” Upon analysing the solution, it was discovered to be diluted sulfuric acid, one of the most “pernicious substances which could come in contact with the teeth.”

Caricature: Moments when life is worth living, Punch, 1891.
(Wellcome Collection. CC BY 4.0)

Some publications derided the fashion for gleaming white teeth. An 1874 edition of the London magazine Belgravia calls white teeth unnatural, “objectionable,” and “positively ugly,” stating:

“A young lady who had white teeth would look as if she were about to bite when she showed them.”

Instead, Belgravia advocated avoiding all “pastes, lotions, and powders which profess to make the teeth white” and leaving teeth the color that nature had made them—even if that color was not as brilliant as one might desire.

A man commenting on the beauty of women at a ball, his friend (a dentist) implies that the perfection of their smiles is due to him. Wood engraving after C. Keene, c.1882.
(Wellcome Collection. CC BY 4.0)

Today, we know a great deal more about dental hygiene and we have countless ways to improve the appearance of discolored or damaged teeth. Still, I can’t help wondering if future generations will find some of our methods as barbaric and dangerous as we find those of the Victorians. What do you think?

Mimi Matthews is the USA Today bestselling author of The Matrimonial Advertisement, The Pug Who Bit Napoleon, and A Victorian Lady’s Guide to Fashion and Beauty. She researches and writes on all aspects of nineteenth century history—from animals, art, and etiquette to fashion, beauty, feminism, and law.

Sources

Belgravia: A London Magazine, Vol. XXIV, London: Warwick House, 1874.

The Chemist and Druggist: A Weekly Trade Journal, Vol. XLI. London: Benn Brothers, 1892

The Dental Review, Vol. VIII. Chicago, H. D. Justi & Son, 1894.

Mackenzie’s Five Thousand Receipts in All the Useful and Domestic Arts. Philadelphia: Hayes & Zell, 1860.

Meredith, L. P. The Teeth and How to Save Them. Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott & Co., 1873.

Smith, Mayo G. A Popular Treatise on the Teeth: Containing a History of the Dental Art. Boston: John P. Jewett & Co., 1848.

ONLY 99¢ FOR A LIMITED TIME
March 1, 2021 – March 7, 2021

The Matrimonial Advertisement
Parish Orphans of Devon, Book 1

England, 1859. When ex-army captain Justin Thornhill places an advertisement for a wife, the mysterious lady who appears on his doorstep isn’t quite what he was expecting. 
Find out more or Read an Excerpt

Order Today

ebook: $0.99 $3.99 / paperback: $16.99 / audiobook: $21.99

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Apple | GooglePlay

Praise for The Matrimonial Advertisement

“For this impressive Victorian romance, Matthews crafts a tale that sparkles with chemistry and impresses with strong character development… an excellent series launch that will appeal to fans of Loretta Chase and Stephanie Laurens.” -Publishers Weekly

“Matthews’ series opener is a guilty pleasure, brimming with beautiful people, damsels in distress, and an abundance of testosterone…It’s a well-written and engaging story that’s more than just a romance.” -Kirkus Reviews

“Matthews has a knack for creating slow-building chemistry and an intriguing plot with a social history twist.” -Library Journal

“An intriguing plot and a haunting setting leaves the reader immersed in this impressive series launch.” -Barnes & Noble (20 Favorite Indie Books of 2018)

“I savored every word of this wonderful historical romance and didn’t want it to end.” -Jane Porter, NYT and USA Today bestselling author

“A heart-rending Gothic love story…The hero has the dark past of Mr. Rochester and the tightly leashed emotion of Mr. Darcy, but is a true romantic hero in every sense of the word. The historical atmosphere is top-notch, as is the writing. I loved it!” -Caroline Linden, USA Today bestselling author

“A highly enjoyable Victorian-sensation style romance…I enjoyed every minute of this warm, charming book.” -KJ Charles, editor and RITA-nominated author


© 2015-2021 Mimi Matthews

For exclusive information on upcoming book releases, giveaways, and other special treats, subscribe to Mimi’s newsletter THE PENNY NOT SO DREADFUL.

You can also connect with Mimi on Facebook and Twitter.


Subscribe
Notify of
guest
Privacy Policy Consent
8 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Lydia
Lydia
2 years ago

You think of such interesting stuff to post here!

Terri Lyon
Terri Lyon
2 years ago

Very interesting!

woostersauce2014
woostersauce2014
2 years ago

Wow!!! So glad we have moved on from these although I have to laugh at manufacturers using Princess Alexandra’s image to sell teeth whitening products!!!

Rym khelili
Rym khelili
2 years ago

Very interesting indeed, but thinking about it charcoal is still used in teeth whitenig ( Charcoal toothpaste) till this day but of-course it is safer and tastier hehe .

Our website uses cookies which may collect information about your visit to improve our website (anonymous analytics), to show you media (video and audio), targeted advertising, and social media feeds. Please see our Cookie Policy page for further details or agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyze our website and optimize for the purpose of a.o. the usability.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook. These cookies may track your personal data.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests. These cookies may track your personal data.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.