Companion Dogs as Seers, Healers, and Fairy Steeds

Johnson’s Household Book of Nature, 1880.

When considering dog folklore, we generally think of those stories which feature the Grimm, the Gytrash, or other sinister black dogs roaming the moors in the North of England. But there is more to canine folklore than the ominous black dogs of legend. Companion dogs, such as pugs and corgis, have their place in dog folklore as well.

In Wales, for example, Pembroke Welsh corgis were once believed to have originated with the fairy folk. According to legend, a Welsh farmer’s children found two corgi puppies in a hollow. They were tailless with short legs, foxy faces, and gleaming golden coats with peculiar markings. Upon bringing them home, the children’s father recognized them at once for exactly what they were. In the 1997 book The Mythology of Dogs, Gerald and Loretta Hausman report that the farmer declared “surely, these are the gifts of the fairy folk.” He went on to explain to his children that corgis—also known as “fairy heelers”—were kept by the fairies in the manner of livestock and that the fairies:

“Made them work the fairy cattle
Made them pull the fairy coaches
Made them steeds for fairy riders
Made them fairy children’s playmates
Kept them hidden in the mountains
Kept them shadowed in the lee
Lest the eye of mortal man see.”

Adding credence to this story is the fact that, even today, the markings on a corgi’s back are arranged in the pattern of the magical saddles that corgis once wore when carrying their fairy riders.

Brehm’s Life of Animals, 1895.

Even those pet dogs unrelated to the world of the fairies were credited with having supernatural abilities. In her 2004 Encyclopedia of Celtic Mythology and Folklore, Patricia Monaghan reports that, in Scotland, dogs were believed to have the ability to “see ghosts of the dead, witches, or other persons only visible to people with second sight.” In addition:

“When they howled at the moon or growled at nothing in particular, it was believed that they were alerting their human keepers to the presence of supernatural or fairy powers.”

Certain breeds of dog or dogs with particular markings were thought to be especially gifted. For instance, the 2003 Encyclopaedia of Superstitions, Folklore, and the Occult Sciences states that:

“A dog with two yellow or round white spots above it eyes, can see spirits and drive the evil ones away.”

Still others believed that if you wished upon “a spotted coach dog” and then did not see that dog again, your wish would come true.

A Favorite Pug by Henry Bernard Chalon, 1802.

In addition to possessing the ability to see spirits or to grant wishes, dogs were also recognized for their healing abilities. In Celtic countries, it was believed that they could heal their human companions simply by being near them. This belief lingered into the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries and was particularly associated with pug dogs. According to Gerald and Loretta Hausman:

“Pugs were also most useful in the healing arts, skilled at pulling out fevers, relieving headaches, and drawing off serious maladies, attracting the sickness unto themselves.”

The association between dogs and healing can be traced back to Roman times, during which healing deities were often depicted as being accompanied by dogs. The Celtic healing deities, such as the healing goddess Sirona, were also depicted with their dogs. Adding to the presence of dogs in healing iconography was the fact that dogs were known to lick their own wounds until they healed. As Monaghan explains:

“This may have led to the common (if mistaken) belief in Celtic countries that dogs can heal human wounds through licking.”

Today, when one looks at companion dogs such as pugs and corgis one generally doesn’t think of their mystical history as seers, healers, or fairy steeds. Instead, pet dogs are valued for their loyalty, intelligence, and sweet dispositions. Nevertheless, their connection to the world of superstition cannot be denied. And so, the next time you’re walking your corgi or curled up reading a book with your pug, I hope you’ll remember that—despite their adorable appearances—companion dogs have as much of a place in the realm of folklore and legend as wolves, coyotes, and the mythical Grimm.

**Author’s Note: This article was originally published in November 2017 at the Folklore Thursday website.

Mimi Matthews is the USA Today bestselling author of The Matrimonial Advertisement, The Pug Who Bit Napoleon, and A Victorian Lady’s Guide to Fashion and Beauty. She researches and writes on all aspects of nineteenth century history—from animals, art, and etiquette to fashion, beauty, feminism, and law.

Sources

Encyclopaedia of Superstitions, Folklore, and the Occult Sciences, Vol. II. Honolulu: University Press of the Pacific, 2003.

Hausman, Gerald and Loretta. The Mythology of Dogs: Canine Legend. New York: St. Martin’s Griffin, 1997.

Ludington, Mary. The Nature of Dogs. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2007.

Monaghan, Patricia. The Encyclopedia of Celtic Mythology and Folklore. New York: Facts on File, 2004.

Norman, Mark. Black Dog Folklore. London: Troy Books, 2016.

Sophia, Denny Sargent. The Book of Dog Magic: Spells, Charms & Tales. Llewellyn Worldwide, 2016.

ONLY 99¢ FOR A LIMITED TIME
March 1, 2021 – March 7, 2021

The Matrimonial Advertisement
Parish Orphans of Devon, Book 1

England, 1859. When ex-army captain Justin Thornhill places an advertisement for a wife, the mysterious lady who appears on his doorstep isn’t quite what he was expecting. 
Find out more or Read an Excerpt

Order Today

ebook: $0.99 $3.99 / paperback: $16.99 / audiobook: $21.99

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Apple | GooglePlay

Praise for The Matrimonial Advertisement

“For this impressive Victorian romance, Matthews crafts a tale that sparkles with chemistry and impresses with strong character development… an excellent series launch that will appeal to fans of Loretta Chase and Stephanie Laurens.” -Publishers Weekly

“Matthews’ series opener is a guilty pleasure, brimming with beautiful people, damsels in distress, and an abundance of testosterone…It’s a well-written and engaging story that’s more than just a romance.” -Kirkus Reviews

“Matthews has a knack for creating slow-building chemistry and an intriguing plot with a social history twist.” -Library Journal

“An intriguing plot and a haunting setting leaves the reader immersed in this impressive series launch.” -Barnes & Noble (20 Favorite Indie Books of 2018)

“I savored every word of this wonderful historical romance and didn’t want it to end.” -Jane Porter, NYT and USA Today bestselling author

“A heart-rending Gothic love story…The hero has the dark past of Mr. Rochester and the tightly leashed emotion of Mr. Darcy, but is a true romantic hero in every sense of the word. The historical atmosphere is top-notch, as is the writing. I loved it!” -Caroline Linden, USA Today bestselling author

“A highly enjoyable Victorian-sensation style romance…I enjoyed every minute of this warm, charming book.” -KJ Charles, editor and RITA-nominated author


© 2015-2021 Mimi Matthews

For exclusive information on upcoming book releases, giveaways, and other special treats, subscribe to Mimi’s newsletter THE PENNY NOT SO DREADFUL.

You can also connect with Mimi on Facebook and Twitter.


Subscribe
Notify of
guest
Privacy Policy Consent
6 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Sarah Waldock
Sarah Waldock
2 years ago

The supernatural hound of the East is Black Shuck or Chuck, a large black demonic hound. His reputation various with where he is to be found; in Norfolk he is a sucker for lovers and protects lone women and the righteous [I wrote a story about a modern version in the anthology ‘Fae Tales’ which I co-authored] but in some places he will lead any lone traveller astray. There are burn marks like claw scratches on the church door in Blytheburgh, said to be the claws of Black Chuck and the tale of it happening is in the parish records.… Read more »

Anne
Anne
2 years ago

Excellent post, thank you!

Angelyn
Angelyn
2 years ago

The Hound of the Baskervilles, anyone?

Our website uses cookies which may collect information about your visit to improve our website (anonymous analytics), to show you media (video and audio), targeted advertising, and social media feeds. Please see our Cookie Policy page for further details or agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyze our website and optimize for the purpose of a.o. the usability.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook. These cookies may track your personal data.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests. These cookies may track your personal data.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.