A Brief History of Victorian Veils...for Babies

The New Arrival by Jules Trayer, 1862.

When taking a baby out of the house, many Victorian mothers first covered the baby’s face with a veil. These veils were believed to protect infants’ faces from extremes of weather, as well as from harmful pollutants which might mar their delicate skin or injure their eyes. By the 1870s and 1880s, baby veils had become so ubiquitous that sewing books, ladies’ magazines, and even etiquette manuals often included knitting or crochet patterns for them. As The Ladies’ Book of Etiquette and Manual of Politeness (1872) reports:

It is now customary to knit white veils of what is called Lady Betty’s wool, for babies to put over their faces when they are carried out in cold weather, instead of pocket-handkerchiefs, which were formerly used for the purpose, though they were very unfit for it.

Baby veils were generally made of knitted wool or crocheted lace. Veils of silk barége or tissue were also quite common, and were sometimes worn by children as old as four. The colors varied. Shetland wool baby veils, for example, were very popular in white. While baby veils made of barége were often seen in shades of blue or gray.  These veils measured approximately fourteen inches long and ten inches wide and, according to the 1894 edition of Good Health, were designed to completely envelop an infant’s head. The fabric came down to the collar of a baby’s cloak and was “drawn tightly over his face in one spot” and left to hang in loose wrinkles in another.

A Knitted Worsted Baby Veil from Harpers Bazaar, 1904.

Initially, baby veils were fairly uncontroversial. However, as time passed, it became evident that shrouding a baby’s face in wool was not a particularly good idea. Veils not only blocked out chills and toxins, they also blocked out fresh air, sunlight, and external stimuli such as sight, sound, and smell. This led Good Health to declare that the practice of “tying up” a baby’s face in a veil was “injurious and foolish” and “an absolute piece of cruelty.” Instead of fresh air, the veiled baby was forced to breathe “over and over again his own fetid breath” and:

Shrouded and shielded from the light and air, the little victims are dragged along our thoroughfares; and might almost as well be at home for all the pleasure or benefit that comes to them.

Mother and Baby by Fritz Paulsen, 1869.

With their faces bound up in veils, many Victorian babies struggled to breathe. In some cases, babies were even known to suffocate and die. On 9 August 1895, the Lincolnshire Echo reported the tragic death of eight-week-old Maud Floyd. Mr. and Mrs. Floyd were laborers living in Marylebone. The previous day they had taken Maud for a ride with them on an omnibus. As the newspaper states:

While on the vehicle the little one’s face was covered with a veil. On alighting, the mother, who was accompanied by her husband, went into a public-house. While in there a friend lifted the baby’s veil to kiss it, when the parents were horrified to find the child dead. The little one had been evidently suffocated by the veil.

While the rationale behind Victorian baby veils seems sound enough, the actual practice of tying one round a baby’s face ultimately resulted in far more harm than good. Nevertheless, baby veils would continue to be used in some capacity or other  (specifically as protection against the cold) well into the early twentieth century. For those of you who would like to test out your knitting skills, I’ve included an 1880s pattern below.

Pattern for a Knitted Baby’s Veil from Godey’s Lady’s Book, 1884.
Mimi Matthews is the USA Today bestselling author of The Matrimonial Advertisement, The Pug Who Bit Napoleon, and A Victorian Lady’s Guide to Fashion and Beauty. She researches and writes on all aspects of nineteenth century history—from animals, art, and etiquette to fashion, beauty, feminism, and law.

Sources

Dew, Louise M. “Dainty Things for Baby.” Harper’s Bazaar, Vol. 28. New York: Hearst Corporation, 1904.

E. M. C. The Lady’s Knitting-Book. London: Hatchards, 1875.

Godey’s Lady’s Book, Vol. 108-109. Philadelphia: Louis A. Godey, 1884.

Good Health, Vol. 29. Battle Creek: Good Health Publishing Co., 1894.

Hartley, Florence. The Ladies’ Book of Etiquette and Manual of Politeness. Boston: Lee & Shepard, 1872.

Lincolnshire Echo (Lincolnshire, England), 9 August 1895. © British Library Board.

Ritter, Thomas J. Mother’s Remedies. Detroit: G. H. Foote Publishing, 1910.

ONLY 99¢ FOR A LIMITED TIME
March 1, 2021 – March 7, 2021

The Matrimonial Advertisement
Parish Orphans of Devon, Book 1

England, 1859. When ex-army captain Justin Thornhill places an advertisement for a wife, the mysterious lady who appears on his doorstep isn’t quite what he was expecting. 
Find out more or Read an Excerpt

Order Today

ebook: $0.99 $3.99 / paperback: $16.99 / audiobook: $21.99

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Apple | GooglePlay

Praise for The Matrimonial Advertisement

“For this impressive Victorian romance, Matthews crafts a tale that sparkles with chemistry and impresses with strong character development… an excellent series launch that will appeal to fans of Loretta Chase and Stephanie Laurens.” -Publishers Weekly

“Matthews’ series opener is a guilty pleasure, brimming with beautiful people, damsels in distress, and an abundance of testosterone…It’s a well-written and engaging story that’s more than just a romance.” -Kirkus Reviews

“Matthews has a knack for creating slow-building chemistry and an intriguing plot with a social history twist.” -Library Journal

“An intriguing plot and a haunting setting leaves the reader immersed in this impressive series launch.” -Barnes & Noble (20 Favorite Indie Books of 2018)

“I savored every word of this wonderful historical romance and didn’t want it to end.” -Jane Porter, NYT and USA Today bestselling author

“A heart-rending Gothic love story…The hero has the dark past of Mr. Rochester and the tightly leashed emotion of Mr. Darcy, but is a true romantic hero in every sense of the word. The historical atmosphere is top-notch, as is the writing. I loved it!” -Caroline Linden, USA Today bestselling author

“A highly enjoyable Victorian-sensation style romance…I enjoyed every minute of this warm, charming book.” -KJ Charles, editor and RITA-nominated author


© 2015-2021 Mimi Matthews

For exclusive information on upcoming book releases, giveaways, and other special treats, subscribe to Mimi’s newsletter THE PENNY NOT SO DREADFUL.

You can also connect with Mimi on Facebook and Twitter.


Subscribe
Notify of
guest
Privacy Policy Consent
5 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Sarah Waldock
Sarah Waldock
3 years ago

I used to tie a butter muslin veil over the pram hood when it was particularly bitter cold, figuring that it it was too cold for me to want to venture out without a snow veil or balaclava helmet, it was too small for the baby. I also used it in the height of the tree pollen season later in the year when I saw that my son had hayfever as badly as I do, but he was old enough by then to protest mightily. fortunately unleaded petrol had been made compulsory by the time he came along. An idea… Read more »

Sarah Waldock
Sarah Waldock
3 years ago
Reply to  Mimi Matthews

and just moving it while they were in the omnibus would have made a difference. Babies are supposed to encounter germs, while they have their mother’s colostrum in them, it helps strengthen their immune systems

Vickie
Vickie
3 years ago

Poor, poor babies! and how very interesting. I have never heard of this before. Once again thank you for enlightening us on this period and doing it so beautifully.

Our website uses cookies which may collect information about your visit to improve our website (anonymous analytics), to show you media (video and audio), targeted advertising, and social media feeds. Please see our Cookie Policy page for further details or agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyze our website and optimize for the purpose of a.o. the usability.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook. These cookies may track your personal data.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests. These cookies may track your personal data.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.