The Tottenham Station Railway Disaster of 1860

“Great injury was done after the engine ran up the platform. The brickwork was swept away, and a large portion of a wall was thrown down; in fact, one carriage was thrown completely through the platform wall by the violence with which it was hurled over the line.”

The Era, 26 February 1860.

First Class by Abraham Solomon, 1855.

On 20 February 1860, at seven o’clock in the morning, a passenger train belonging to the Eastern Counties Railway left Cambridge heading for Tottenham station in London. The train was quite full and, as it approached the station, it was travelling at a speed of thirty-five to forty miles per hour. The 26 February 1860 edition of The Era reports that, at approximately 10:20, “the train began to oscillate in a peculiar manner.” It was then that the passengers heard a loud crash as the train derailed. It ran off of the platform, hurtling through the brickwork with such violent force that one of the railway carriages was “thrown completely through the platform wall.”

Some passengers managed to escape from their carriages. Others were not so fortunate. The 21 February 1860 edition of the Morning Post reports that Mr. Barber, a young fireman on board, was “smashed to pieces,” while the engine driver, a gentleman by the name of William Rowell, was both crushed and scalded when water and steam discharged from the upended boiler. Rowell also suffered a severe head injury. The Era relates that “from the moment he was taken from beneath the engine he never for a single instant recovered his consciousness.” Rowell would expire from his injuries later that evening, leaving behind a wife and several small children. 

The Railway Station by William Powell Frith, 1862.

Removing the injured from the train was both a lengthy and a very delicate undertaking. The Morning Post states that, in order to extricate the passengers, the carriages first had to “be broken into fragments.” Once removed from the wreckage, the injured were then either “conveyed into the waiting rooms at the station” or carried to nearby taverns on makeshift stretchers fashioned from boards and ladders.

Among those fatally injured was Mr. Stokes, a miller from the market town of Saffron Walden who had been travelling in a first-class carriage. After being removed from the wreckage, he was conveyed to the White Hart Inn. According to the Morning Post:

“He was in an insensible state, dreadfully injured, and never rallied, apparently dying without much agony.”

Another fatally injured passenger was a man named Mr. Satchell. Described as being a hatter from Fenchurch Street, he was also taken to the White Hart Inn where he later expired from “the dreadful nature of his injuries.” In the end, the derailment would claim the lives of seven passengers who either died at the scene or shortly thereafter.

Non-fatal injuries ranged from crushed legs and dislocated hips to bruises, burns, and compound fractures. One gentleman named Mr. Manston, a miller from the town of Hoddesdon, suffered a compound fracture of the left leg which was so severe that he was forced to undergo an amputation at a neighbouring tavern.

First Class – The Meeting: ‘And at First Meeting Loved’ by Abraham Solomon, 1855.

Mr. J. B. Owen, the secretary of the railway company, happened to be on the platform at the time of the crash and was able to peruse the wreckage. The 26 February 1860 edition of Lloyd’s Weekly Newspaper quotes an excerpt from Owen’s official report in which Owen identifies the possible cause of the derailment. He writes:

“On looking about for the cause of the accident, I observed that the tire of one of the leading wheels was off the wheel, broken in several places, and with appearances which indicated a flaw of some extent.”

The Morning Post reports that railway officials would later confirm Owen’s findings, determining that the derailment had been caused by “the breaking of the tyre of the left leading wheel of the engine.” Though tragic, it was believed to be purely accidental.

The Tottenham railway disaster was not the first derailment of the Victorian era, nor would it be the last. I focus on it in this article because it is mentioned briefly in my upcoming Victorian romance novel, The Lost Letter. In the aftermath of the derailment at Tottenham station, one of my characters forbids his wife from travelling by train. This reaction is not wholly unreasonable in light of the catastrophic nature of the crash. People were shocked and frightened and, though a horse and carriage was not really much safer, an overprotective spouse might temporarily consider it a better option than a runaway locomotive.

Mimi Matthews is the USA Today bestselling author of The Matrimonial Advertisement, The Pug Who Bit Napoleon, and A Victorian Lady’s Guide to Fashion and Beauty. She researches and writes on all aspects of nineteenth century history—from animals, art, and etiquette to fashion, beauty, feminism, and law.

Sources

Cambridge Independent Press (Cambridgeshire, England), 25 February 1860.

The Era (London, England), 26 February, 1860.

Lloyd’s Weekly Newspaper (London, England) 26 February 1860.

Morning Post (London, England) 21 February 1860.

AVAILABLE NOW 

The Matrimonial Advertisement
Parish Orphans of Devon, Book 1

England, 1859. When ex-army captain Justin Thornhill places an advertisement for a wife, the mysterious lady who appears on his doorstep isn’t quite what he was expecting. 
Find out more or Read an Excerpt

Order Today

ebook: $3.99 / paperback: $16.99 / audiobook: $21.99

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Apple | GooglePlay

Praise for The Matrimonial Advertisement

“For this impressive Victorian romance, Matthews crafts a tale that sparkles with chemistry and impresses with strong character development… an excellent series launch that will appeal to fans of Loretta Chase and Stephanie Laurens.” -Publishers Weekly

“Matthews’ series opener is a guilty pleasure, brimming with beautiful people, damsels in distress, and an abundance of testosterone…It’s a well-written and engaging story that’s more than just a romance.” -Kirkus Reviews

“Matthews has a knack for creating slow-building chemistry and an intriguing plot with a social history twist.” -Library Journal

“An intriguing plot and a haunting setting leaves the reader immersed in this impressive series launch.” -Barnes & Noble (20 Favorite Indie Books of 2018)

“I savored every word of this wonderful historical romance and didn’t want it to end.” -Jane Porter, NYT and USA Today bestselling author

“A heart-rending Gothic love story…The hero has the dark past of Mr. Rochester and the tightly leashed emotion of Mr. Darcy, but is a true romantic hero in every sense of the word. The historical atmosphere is top-notch, as is the writing. I loved it!” -Caroline Linden, USA Today bestselling author

“A highly enjoyable Victorian-sensation style romance…I enjoyed every minute of this warm, charming book.” -KJ Charles, editor and RITA-nominated author


© 2015-2021 Mimi Matthews

For exclusive information on upcoming book releases, giveaways, and other special treats, subscribe to Mimi’s newsletter THE PENNY NOT SO DREADFUL.

You can also connect with Mimi on Facebook and Twitter.


Subscribe
Notify of
guest
Privacy Policy Consent
6 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Cynthia Strauff
Cynthia Strauff
3 years ago

thank you — your research is great — love your blog…

Laurie Welch
Laurie Welch
3 years ago

Very interesting article about a subject we still deal with today and some of us have the same reaction as that husband, at least for a little while. And I love the pictures you chose to accompany the article.

Dion
Dion
3 years ago

The early days of commercial air travel when planes went down with startling regularity no doubt conjured similar feelings in spouses. Lovely article.

Our website uses cookies which may collect information about your visit to improve our website (anonymous analytics), to show you media (video and audio), targeted advertising, and social media feeds. Please see our Cookie Policy page for further details or agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyze our website and optimize for the purpose of a.o. the usability.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook. These cookies may track your personal data.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests. These cookies may track your personal data.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.